TL;DR
Get home appliances delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
Apple’s $299 HomeView comes in two fixed configurations: a tabletop model with a speaker base and a wall-mounted model without it. The wall version requires a separate mount, priced from $59.95 to $129.95, and some installation options call for professional electrical or network work.
Apple’s $299 HomeView is available as either a tabletop smart display with a speaker base or a wall-mounted model that requires a separate mount, according to a CNET report ahead of its scheduled Nov. 13 release. The two versions cost the same, but buyers cannot switch configurations later, making the choice relevant to anyone comparing sound, placement and installation costs.
Both versions have a 7-inch Liquid Retina display and are designed for entertainment, smart-home controls and home security monitoring. CNET reports that both also support face recognition for personalized accounts, Messages, FaceTime, Calendar, Reminders, Find My and Siri AI. The tabletop screen is attached to its speaker base; it is not detachable.
The tabletop model includes additional audio hardware: down-firing woofers, two passive radiators and two full-range drivers. It uses a standard power adapter and USB-C cable, so it can be placed near an outlet without a permanent installation. CNET’s reviewer described the sound as loud and deep during a demonstration, a hands-on assessment rather than a published measurement.
The wall-mounted version does not include the tabletop speaker base. Apple lists three Schneider Home mounts: a $59.95 USB-C mount that needs a separate 20-watt adapter; a $79.95 hardwired AC mount rated to deliver 30 watts through a single-gang wall box; and a $129.95 Power over Ethernet (PoE) mount that carries power and a wired network connection over Ethernet. The PoE option requires compatible equipment and an Ethernet run.
The Model Choice Sets the Setup
Because the two HomeView configurations share the same $299 price but cannot be converted into one another, the decision affects more than where the screen sits. Buyers who want stronger room audio or a setup that can be plugged in near an outlet may find the tabletop model more suitable. Those prioritizing a fixed dashboard for smart-home controls or security may prefer a wall-mounted display, but its mount adds cost and may add installation work.
The listed prices also do not represent the full cost of every wall setup. The USB-C mount requires a separate 20-watt power adapter if the buyer does not already own one, while the wired options depend on existing home infrastructure or installation. CNET says Apple recommends a licensed electrician for the hardwired AC mount. The source does not provide a confirmed electrician price, so buyers cannot calculate a complete installed cost from the listed mount price alone.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Three Routes to Wall Mounting
The least expensive listed choice is the USB-C wall connector. It includes the mount and an attached cable, but the cable remains visible down the wall to an outlet. CNET describes it as a possible fit for renters willing to drill small holes for screws and anchors, or homeowners comfortable with that setup. Renters should check their lease and property rules before making holes.
The AC hardwired mount is intended to sit flush with the wall and connect to home power through a single-gang box. CNET reports that Apple recommends having a licensed electrician install it. Electric work inside a wall is not a simple plug-in alternative; installation should follow applicable electrical codes and local permit requirements.
The PoE mount costs the most and is aimed at homes with a suitable PoE network switch and Ethernet wiring, or those adding wiring during a remodel. Electrician Michael Malfettone, identified by CNET as a licensed master electrician and owner of Malfettone Electric, said the option suits people seeking a wired connection that does not rely on Wi-Fi. That is his assessment of the setup’s fit, not a guarantee of HomeView performance.
““For most homeowners, I’d go with the AC Wired mount.””
— Michael Malfettone, owner of Malfettone Electric and licensed master electrician, as quoted by CNET
Apple HomeView tabletop smart display
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Costs and Service Details Pending
The source does not specify how much a licensed electrician would charge to install the AC mount, or whether the work would require a permit in a particular location. Those details depend on the home and local rules. CNET also said it was waiting for information from Apple about the ADT installation service listed for the PoE mount, including whether it is an Apple partnership or a booking option available directly through ADT.
The report does not establish whether all listed mounts and services will be available in every market, nor does it provide a complete total for a professionally installed setup. HomeView’s scheduled release is given as Nov. 13, but the source material does not specify the year. No independent performance testing or long-term reliability findings are included.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Check Setup Before Ordering
Before ordering, buyers should decide whether they need the tabletop speaker base, then check the intended wall location for outlet access, Ethernet availability and compatible PoE equipment. Anyone considering a hardwired mount should confirm installation requirements and pricing with a licensed electrician before treating the mount’s listed price as the total cost. Renters should confirm what modifications their landlord permits.
Further details from Apple or ADT could clarify installation bookings and service arrangements. Until then, the key confirmed distinction is the fixed choice between tabletop audio and a wall-mounted setup, with the latter adding a separate mount and potentially professional installation.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Key Questions
Do both Apple HomeView models cost $299?
Yes. The CNET report lists both the tabletop and wall-mounted models at $299. The wall-mounted model needs a separate mount, which adds $59.95, $79.95 or $129.95 depending on the option.
Can the tabletop HomeView be detached from its speaker base?
No. CNET reports that the tabletop display is attached directly to its speaker base. Buyers cannot purchase one configuration and later add the other model’s base.
Which HomeView model has stronger audio?
The tabletop version includes the additional speaker base, with down-firing woofers, two passive radiators and two full-range drivers. The wall-mounted model does not include that base, according to the report.
Does the wall-mounted HomeView include a mount?
No. The report says buyers choose a separate Schneider Home mount. The listed options are $59.95 for USB-C, $79.95 for hardwired AC and $129.95 for PoE; the USB-C option also requires a separate 20-watt adapter.
Does the wall-mounted model need professional installation?
It depends on the mount. CNET says Apple recommends a licensed electrician for the hardwired AC mount. The USB-C mount plugs into an adapter, while PoE needs compatible Ethernet wiring and network equipment. Confirm local requirements and installation costs before buying.
Source: rss
Halloween Picks
halloween
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
